Virtual Queer Author Expo Marketplace

Virtual Queer Author Expo Video Archive

Tobly McSmith, Stay Gold

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Interview

Meredith Talusan, Fairest

A singular, beautifully written coming-of-age memoir of a Filipino boy with albinism whose story travels from an immigrant childhood to Harvard to a gender transition and illuminates the illusions of race, disability, and gender.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Interview

Chris Talbot-Heindl, The Story of Them

The Story of Them is a graphic novel in progress that illustrates what it’s like to be nonbinary in a gender binary world. Charlie, Shondra, Yang, Tar, Max, Alex, Isaac, and Dion all see the same affirming therapist, Kim, who they talk to about the different micro-aggressions, biases, and bigotry they face, while also sharing the joy and love they feel when they are fully affirmed. The graphic novel is intended for nonbinary individuals and the people who love and want to affirm them. A prologue is available in print and chapters one through four are available in zine form.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Interview
Book Description
Author Reading

Cassy Huidibro, Is Anyone Else Feeling the Same Way?

Growing up, Cassy hungered for answers to spiritual questions she simply couldn’t get. She would ask herself:

  • Is there really one absolute religion?
  • Do we have a path set up before we come to Earth?
  • Should we always follow our intuition?
  • Why have free will?

These and other questions led her to a quest of self-discovery, purpose, and belonging. Through personal stories, Cassy gets real with readers and shares her journey of spirituality, lost love, reflection and finding peace. In this book, you’ll find solidarity in the search for finding answers, if you’ve ever felt the same way.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Interview
Book Description
Author Reading

Mari Anne Christie, Blind Tribute

Every newspaper editor owes tribute to the devil… Harry Wentworth’s bill just came due. Freedom of the press is in peril. Families are torn apart by politics and principle. Opposing political parties manipulate the public in speeches, public meetings, and the media, grasping for votes and consolidating power. Foreign nations peddle influence in all directions to achieve their own ends. The struggle between citizens and government tugs at the threads of the American Constitution… and democracy itself.

In a matter of moments, the United States will shatter, beginning the long march of the American Civil War. Harry Wentworth, gentleman of distinction and journalist of renown, spends a lifetime of social and financial capital, exploiting his position as Executive Editor of the Philadelphia Daily Standard to try to arrest the momentum of both Union and Confederacy. To his sorrow and disgust, his calls for a peaceful resolution are worth no more than the ink he buys to print them.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Interview
Book Trailer
Author Reading

Marianna Gabrielle, La Déesse Noire 

Sired by a British peer, born of a paramour to Indian royalty, Kali Matai has been destined from birth to enthrall England’s most powerful noblemen—though she hadn’t counted on becoming their pawn. Finding herself under the control of ruthless men, who will not be moved by her legendary allure, she has no choice but to use her beauty toward their malicious and clandestine ends. When those she holds most dear are placed in peril by backroom political dealings, she enlists some of the most formidable lords in England to thwart her enemies. But even with the help of the prominent gentlemen she has captivated, securing Kali’s freedom, her family, and the man she loves, will require her protectors stop at nothing to fulfill her desires.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Reading

Jax Meyer, A Marine’s Heart

On the verge of turning 40, former Marine Cameron ‘Cam’ Warren didn’t expect to be walking onto a community college campus to spend a year playing music. But after five years, Cam is still mourning the tragic death of her partner and fellow Marine Sharon Rodriguez. To move forward, Cam needs a change. She hopes a sabbatical to play the drums will allow her to live fully again, connecting her to her emotions in ways her autism hinders.

PURCHASE BOOK
Author Interview
Book Description
Author Reading

Dylan Edwards, Queer & Trans Comics

Dylan Edwards is an award-winning queer & trans comic artist, best known as the creator of TRANSPOSES and VALLEY OF THE SILK SKY. His work has been published in anthologies from Dark Horse, Fantagraphics, and Oni Press, and has been featured on The Nib, PEN America, and Splinter News.

LEARN MORE
Author Interview
Description
Author Reading
Premiere Banner - Xfinity